New Teacher - What Do I Absolutely Need

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by msrosie, Aug 8, 2015.

1. msrosie

msrosie Rookie

Aug 8, 2015

I'm new to the classroom and while it's very exciting, I'm also terrified. School starts in a week and I definitely need to put my room together. But the previous teacher left the room completely empty.

So what do I absolutely need in my classroom? Or what should I absolutely have? I'm teaching 4th grade in a tough school if that makes any difference.

3. Ms_C

Ms_C Comrade

Aug 8, 2015

You don't need a Pinterest classroom so don't stress about cutesy decorations, but you do need a great management plan. Think about the layout of your room and even sit down in the student desk and see the room on their level. This helps you make sure your board(or whatever your focal point is) can be seen by all students. You said your in a tough area so look into creating some sort of PBIS plan to keep students motivated to show positive behaviors.

As for supplies I would just make sure you have things to write with, a good pair is scissors, some tape, and a stapler. Everything else will come together!

4. msrosie

msrosie Rookie

Aug 8, 2015

Desk wise, I already arranged my room and sit at all the desks that I thought might be difficult to see from and adjusted accordingly.

I have the broad strokes of a management plan. I'm using Class
    Dojo and the students will gain and lose points based on their behaviors. They'll use those points to purchase fun rewards at differing point values. The students who might be struggling and even sadly end days with negative points will be reset at the end of each day. And a certain value of negative points in a day will result in difference consequences.

I have 4 overarching expectations - respect yourself, respect others, respect property, and make positive choices. I plan on coming up with rules and a class pledge with the class on Monday.