New Teacher - This feels impossible right now - Help?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Ad Astra, Sep 2, 2013.

1. Ad Astra

Ad Astra Rookie

Sep 2, 2013

Good afternoon, teachers! I hope you're enjoying your Labor Day. I know I needed the break!

This is my first year teaching elementary with my own class. My previous experience was as an itinerant. This is very different! So I'm very much just like a brand new first year teacher. Please forgive me, but this is going to be long... I so appreciate anyone who takes the time to read through this and help me problem-solve.

I have an issue I'd love some help with and then I have some other problems I'm attempting to tackle and would love some opinions or advice.

I'm a 3rd grade teacher and I teach three rotations of ELA, which includes writing. I have my homeroom and then rotate with two other HR teachers on my team: one teaches Math and Social Studies and the other teaches Science.

I believe that legally I am supposed to have 90-120 minutes with each class, but right now, I have my own HR for almost 2 hours (glorious!) and another HR for 70 minutes. The last HR I only see for 60 minutes.

I have been trying to tackle running records (we use F&P) for the last 3 weeks and have only had time to benchmark about 5 of my 28 students. I am trying to get this done ASAP so I know at which levels my kiddos are reading, but between rules/procedures and learning routines, to endless transitions to other HRs, specials, lunch, recess, bathroom breaks and water breaks, etc., I'm just not making the progress I want to with ANYTHING: neither F&P nor my unit plans!

I've spoken with other teachers on my grade level and we're all facing shortages of time. I'm trying to be optimistic, but I feel like I'm just not granted the time I DESPERATELY need in a block to get ANYWHERE.

Regarding this shortage of time, what would you do? Hope for the best? I'm being optimistic at school and freaking out to you all. :eek: