New teacher struggling with student engagement among ninth graders

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by neal, Nov 22, 2016.

1. neal

neal Rookie

Nov 22, 2016

Hello,

I am a new teacher in New York and I am struggling with classroom management and student engagement. I have certain students saying to my face that my class is the worst/ their least favorite of the day. and During lessons I can see their boredom. The problem is that I do a lot of individual work because behavior is so bad. I try to tell them we can do more fun things if there wasn't so much talking but it really doesn't work. Any thoughts?

P.S. we are reading Romeo and Juliet

3. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Nov 22, 2016

Last edited: Feb 19, 2019
  4. justwanttoteach

justwanttoteach Cohort

Nov 22, 2016

5. Secondary Teach

Secondary Teach Companion

Nov 22, 2016

Games are your friend! My 8th-10th grade Literature students love playing literature styled trivia in the form of Family Feud or guessing vocab terms by playing Hangman etc. For Family Feud, I usually just divide the classroom into teams of three and the winning team goes against me and my team. For Hangman, the class champ gets to head to head against me- Mr. J. The kids love that. :)

Leaborb192 likes this.
  6. Secondary Teach

Secondary Teach Companion

Nov 22, 2016

I love Sarah Brown Wessling, she's taught me so much through her Teaching Channel Presents TV programs. Oh, OP pod-casting is great too for English literature instruction and learning.

Leaborb192 likes this.
  7. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Nov 23, 2016