New Teacher Small School

Discussion in 'General Education' started by rskipper6510, Sep 18, 2012.

1. rskipper6510

rskipper6510 New Member

Sep 18, 2012

This is my first year teaching. I am a pre-k and kindergarten teacher in a small rural school. I am the youngest teacher at my school by 30 years (I'm 25). When I started I assessed my kinders and not one of them knew their alphabet, normally I would say ok, they are just starting school, but all of them attended pre-k here last year. Their behaviors were not established either. The other thing is, it's not just my class, for writing the first and second grade write two letters, and not letters like dear mom and dad, but like Aa and Aa that's their writing for the whole day. I don't want my students to be behind just because that the way the school has done it for the past 40 years, but I also don't want to sound like a know it all fresh from college first year teacher. I don't really know what to do. If anyone has some advice I'd greatly appreciate it.

3. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Sep 18, 2012

I am in a similar situation much the same way as you are: new really young teacher at a small school.

Uhm, I don't really see the problem here. It's your classroom. That's what's great about these small schools. They generally don't care what your curriculum is as long as you are following the standards.

You can have higher expectations as you please. I would just begin by teaching them what you think they need to know, and then planning the practice into more interesting activities they can do, like writing letters, etc.

Chances are, the other teachers won't know or care what you're doing. They're too busy with their own classrooms. If they really have a problem with it, who can blame you for trying to improve the capabilities of your students?