New teacher, sick with stress?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by missrebecca, Feb 17, 2014.

1. missrebecca

missrebecca Comrade

Feb 17, 2014

I'm a new teacher in a low-income school, and I've been having a difficult time adjusting to the job. I started midyear, and my students for the most part received zero instruction from actual teachers last semester, didn't have basic materials like pencils and paper, and had some severe behavior problems. I also just had my first parent-teacher conferences last week, where I had to explain some extremely low test scores. Now, I'm an anxious person by nature, but... I think this job is literally making me sick with anxiety.

I've been nauseated every day for over a week, having stomach issues, panic attacks, and just feeling terrible in general. I eat healthily, haven't been drinking, don't smoke, get moderate exercise... the only thing I can pinpoint the sickness to is stress.

Is this common?? Will it go away?? I'm really starting to wonder if this job is right for me. I really enjoy teaching, but there is so much pressure, and I feel completely overwhelmed...

3. Em_Catz

Em_Catz Devotee

Feb 17, 2014

I'm sorry you've been having such a tough time Rebecca. The first year is really hard. :hugs:

I have quite a bit of anxiety myself and when I first started teaching I felt ill-prepared because I was not an education major, rather I became a teacher through an alternative certification program. Like you, I also worked in a rather rough area.

Honestly my first year was a disaster. I made so many mistakes, was stressed out daily. My worse moment came in October. I was standing at the overhead teaching math when I looked out at my class.