New teacher seeking advice for the first day and week of school

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by onestepcloser, Aug 18, 2010.

1. onestepcloser

onestepcloser Companion

Aug 18, 2010

Hi everyone,

I am a new secondary teacher. First semester I will be teaching freshmen and sophomore students. I'm really nervous about the first day(s) of school and was wondering if you guys could give me some suggestions. Classes are 75 minutes long. I'm not sure if I should do icebreakers on the first day, the best way to handle seating arrangements/plans (I'll be moving from classroom to classroom so I won't be re-arranging the desks), how I should start into the content, etc. I'm really nervous about getting started off on the right foot. If you have any advice or could share some details about how you start the first day and week of school, I would really appreciate it. I realize there is a New Teachers forum but I thought this section would be most appropriate for this post since it's specific to secondary.

TIA!

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Aug 18, 2010

Everyone is going to have different opinions on this. IMO, I would sit down and read Harry Wong's The First Days of School. Great read for new teachers! I would take the first days to teach your specific procedures. Do some get to know you activities, let the students get to know you. Good luck!

4. onestepcloser

onestepcloser Companion

Aug 18, 2010

Thank you! I'm going to pick up that book tomorrow. :)

I know everyone will have different opinions but I'd still like to hear them. Especially details on how people time the first day of class. I'm nervous! lol.

Thanks for your tips :)

5. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Aug 18, 2010