New teacher, reached my limit.

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by newtothis2006, Feb 10, 2007.

1. newtothis2006

newtothis2006 Rookie

Feb 10, 2007

I am a new teacher. (3 weeks now) I teach 2nd and 3rd grade Sp Ed Resource. I have reached my limit to dealing with behaviors. My 3rd graders are a group of 5 that are very low and needy. I have struggled with all of their behaviours but most have gotten better. One childs behavior in particular has escalated and all my time is devoted to dealing with his outbursts. I can't handle it! It's not fair to the other children. Here's the deal. This kid is Autistic. His behavior is as follows: he comes in with a negative attitude saying "I'm bad", he refuses to do the journal work saying he "doesn't know" but when it's time to do the journal problems he is the first one raising his hand blurting out "me, me!" He won't have anything written down in his journal, just maybe the one problem he wants to answer. When he is given an assignment he will either just sit there and refuse to do it or he will constantly raise his hand every 30 seconds for me to walk over to him. Mostly asking irrelevant questions. So, in a nutshell the problems are he is blurting out over me while I am teaching, or other students, he is refusing to do his work by excessive whining and complaining, he is bursting into tears when threatened to write in his behavior log or call mom. (This week, he has cried almost everyday.) His behavior is affecting my other students, they see he is getting away with it and at times they try it too. This has got to stop! I believe I have given this kid to many warnings and he has been manipulating me for attention. No more. I am exhausted constantly redirecting him and the other kids have to endure it. Real quick b/c this is getting long. I have a sticker chart for them to earn stickers when they are following directions. When it is filled up, they can pick a treasure from the box. It doesn't seem like this is