New teacher-question about library

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by New3rdTeacher, May 6, 2008.

1. New3rdTeacher

New3rdTeacher Comrade

May 6, 2008

:help:Hello there,:help:
    I am a brand new teacher. Will be starting in the fall. I am working on getting a library together. I feel that's one of the very most important things I need for my classroom.
    I need suggestions on where to get books, how many I should have, and other suggestions. I am unsure about this at this time so I need help.:wub:
    Thank you so much!!!:thanks:
    Rachelle

3. buck8teacher

buck8teacher Devotee

May 6, 2008

I have had great success at goodwill! I also got several lots on EBAY on specific series that I know my students will like. I also got several current, popular series from Scholastic book orders.

I collected a nice sized library this year, manly from Goodwill and other thrift stores. Some days I went on half off day and got so many books. Sometimes I walked out with none. You have plenty of time! Half price books is good too.

You might want to think of how you are going to organize them, by level, genre, etc. How you want students to store them (bags of books, book nooks, etc).

Good luck! You might want to see if your school uses AR or Reading Counts. That way you can use their catalog of quizzes a little bit when looking for books. Your kids will be a variety of reading levels, so my library goes from Beginning Readers to Advanced Chapter books.

4. SaraFirst

SaraFirst Cohort

May 7, 2008

I have also gotten a lot of books from book orders and yard sales. You might also ask around and see if any relatives or friends have any books they don't want/need any more. Sometimes our public library has books for sale for 10 cents or so.

5. cMcD

cMcD Groupie

May 7, 2008

As a new teacher this year I didn't have a classroom library. The PTO president got me 50 books from Scholastic with leftover money. So your PTO might be able to help you.