New teacher-question about applying

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Huntergirl, May 19, 2014.

1. Huntergirl

Huntergirl New Member

May 19, 2014

Hello!

I am completely new to the teaching field. I graduated from college 3 years ago with a Biology degree. I've worked in the biological science field and wildlife field doing temporary positions since graduating. I've been working as an intern for my state's wildlife dept. working with the outdoor education programs, so I do have some experience teaching. I haven't been able land a full-time position in this field because I can't move to other parts of the state. So I have decided to become a science teacher. I have just been approved to get my alternative teaching certification. I can take the teacher tests in June and finish the certification process by the end of the summer.

Within the past week, I talked with some of the schools in my area and they all said they accept applications from people who aren't completely certified yet, but are in the process. I have applied to 8 school districts so far. Two of which I applied by emailing the principal and they replied saying they already filled their position. The other 5/6 had online applications or applied through the administration office. All of those schools have multiple science teacher positions open in the high school.

So my question is this. . .Should I email the principal or superintendent of those schools directly to say I have applied and I am interested. Or should I sit back and wait and see if I get a call?

3. 4815162342

4815162342 Companion

May 19, 2014

I think it just depends on the school district. I know one of the larger ones where I live says on the website you apply on specifically not to contact the schools individually. Maybe give it a few days/week and send a follow up email to confirm that the application was received. That way you are making contact, but not being overbearing.

4. Briana008

Briana008 Companion

May 19, 2014