New Teacher.....PLEASE HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by SpecialPEGirl, Mar 2, 2011.

1. SpecialPEGirl

SpecialPEGirl Rookie

Mar 2, 2011

I have a very difficult situation....

I am a new physical education teacher in a school whose last teacher did absolutely nothing with them for 20 years. I have barely any equipment, maybe a few scooters, basketballs, rubber balls, soccer balls and hula hoops. The majority of my students are non verbal. I am in a 6-1-1 class, with minimal help from my paraprofessional.

I cannot get them to do anything. I plan stations for them and have it set up for when they come in, but they always just come in and knock it over and throw everything around the room. I only have 1 para per class so I dont have much help. The students are used to coming into the gym and doing whatever they want with the equipment that is laid around. They dont have floor spots, a routine or anything of that kind. I am trying to establish an enter routine and I have some floor spots in the making (they are getting laminated). For now, I have them line up against the wall and they listen to some movement CD's. However, they just run around the gym causing a dangerous situation with the ribbon sticks I gave them since they are just wooden sticks with ribbons on the end. I am really having a hard time with my autistic group. I have one child who will not leave the corner of the gym. If you do try and move him he will have a tantrum and start swinging and spitting. I also tried an obstacle course (the most basic one so they were able to complete it) and that also didnt work. I am doing the most basic skills to make sure they are able to complete it, but they wont even try.

Do you have any advice? This is a very difficult group. They are all so used to doing everything one way, which is no way, that now I am here trying to establish new rules they are having a very hard time cooperating with me.