New teacher overwhelmed

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by ll1301, Aug 20, 2013.

1. ll1301

ll1301 Rookie

Aug 20, 2013

Hi everyone. I am a first year teacher this year, and to say that I'm
    Completely overwhelmed is an understatement. I don't feel ready, and the kids come in just a few days. I haven't gotten help with planning or how to plan and what to plan. I just feel like I'm neon thrown in unprepared. The school is unorganized.. I don't even have my computers set up or correct chairs for my desks. And I put in that work order a week ago. All the teachers on my team have been planning and they very briefly explained a how to plan, but I feel like they just assumed what I was doing. I feel
    So lost, and unprepared. I stated at my content for 2
    Hours tonight and couldn't come up with a single thing. We just got our curriculum map today, which I think is not enough time, especially because I'm brand new. I just feel like my team is not so great at helping me learn the things I need to know to be successful
    In planning and teaching what is required of me. Any other new teachers feel like this? It's causing me a lot of anxiety.

3. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Aug 20, 2013

First of all, deep breaths. You can do this!! :hugs:

I was a new teacher in first grade last year. You will LOVE first grade. I know things feel overwhelming right now, but once you meet the kids, you will remember why you're there, I promise. :) They make it all worth while, even when things are crazy!