New Teacher Needs Help

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Stretch9382, Aug 26, 2007.

1. Stretch9382

Stretch9382 Rookie

Aug 26, 2007

Hi Everyone,

Finally got my own classroom teaching second grade and am a little worried about classroom managment and other little odds and ends. I was just wondering how some of you handle kids who need to go to the bathroom, what activities you have planned for the first day of school, if you give homework and do you correct it the next day with the kids. I probably have so many more questions to ask but I will start with these. Thank you for your help! :)

3. Darkhorse

Darkhorse Companion

Aug 26, 2007

This is my first year teaching and I am in 2nd grade too. After two weeks, I have found the most useful book to be "Rules in School" part of the responsive classroom series. It explains classroom management so well and I am actually looking forward to the next week...:rolleyes:

For bathrooms, you need some way to keep track of how many times kids go and put a limit on it. I know it sounds harsh, but some kids will really push the limits and just go to dawdle in the halls.

Homework is something we as a team are still trying to work out, but I feel reading a certain amount every night is a must. Honestly, the first day is still a blur so I am not quite sure how to help you there, but I would recommend using Amelia Bedelia Plays Ball to help you illustrate a listening lesson. If you want the specifics let me know and I will line it up for you a little better.

HTH!

4. Stretch9382

Stretch9382 Rookie

Aug 27, 2007

Thanks so much for the response. I totally understand that kids can abuse bathroom privileges. I guess these are just a few things I will learn as the school year goes along! Any other ideas or information you have will be greatly appreciated! Good luck to you!

5. LAH2

LAH2 Companion

Aug 27, 2007