New Teacher needs HELP

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ll1301, Sep 17, 2013.

1. ll1301

ll1301 Rookie

Sep 17, 2013

I am a new teacher this year (1st grade), and I need some help/advice. I work at a Title I school, and majority of the student makeup is low economic status. The first 2 weeks of school were decent, the kids were a chatty, but it is getting incredibly worse by the day. Sometimes I feel like I have lost (almost) complete control of them. I use the color system in my classroom. I have also tried tickets for good behavior for prizes, extra privileges, and compliments. I have to tell my class to be quiet AT LEAST 100 times a day. As soon as I stop talking or even finish a sentence, they talk. I can't get through a single sentence without being interrupted. When I do tell my kids to be quiet, I get eyes rolled at me, and most of the time ignored.