New teacher needs advice

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by libbster, May 1, 2005.

1. libbster

libbster Rookie

May 1, 2005

Hi there
    I'm a relatively new teacher, teaching year 1/2 in Australia (5 and 6 yr olds). Before this I have taught in London and done supply (substitute) work in London and Australia. This is my first 'proper' full time job.
    I'm teaching in a brand new school (literally brand new, we only just got rid of builders and into our own classrooms). For the first couple of weeks we couldn't even go onto the school site, so had 120 kids in this campsite! Challenging yes. But despite that we have a fantastic supportive staff and a great school. I love my kids.
    Despite all that, I feel like I shouldn't be there. My planning and paperwork is a mess and I don't feel inspired anymore. I look around and see everyone doing a better job than me, even the other beginning teacher who has less experience than me. I just find myself never getting anything done, not managing my time well at all. It's got to the point where I get home and just cry because I don't know what to do. I feel like I should feel lucky, because I really don't have any problem kids or problem staff and I spent so long sending applications in. (It's very hard to get a teaching job in Oz!) After all that, I still feel like I shouldn't be there.
    Has anyone else been through the same problems and survived!?

3. Sarah Leigh Ann

Sarah Leigh Ann Companion

May 1, 2005