New Teacher needing advice

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by esu88, Jun 14, 2011.

1. esu88

esu88 New Member

Jun 14, 2011

I just finished up my first year of teaching and realized there are MANY things I need to work on for next year. One of the main things though is classroom managment. I work at a middle school that has an extremely diverse student population and some very challenging students. I wanted to create a comfortable atomosphere, but I had a problem with students thinking I would let them get away with more since I am a young teacher. I often had problems with disrespect and I think majority was due to my young age and being a female. I would like any advice that has worked well getting middle school aged students to pay attention and be respectful. I like to joke around with my students, but I found myself having trouble getting them to focus when it was time to work. I found myself sometimes resorting to shouting which is something I do not want to do and was only a temporary fix. For a lot of students detentions did not matter. Any advice for ways to manage these kids, be treated with the respect veteran teachers have, and/or ways to get middle school students focused and get their attention during class? Thanks! :help:

3. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Jun 14, 2011

I don't teach middle school and this is out of my league a little bit, but as I read your post, I am wondering how much time you spent on paying attention to transitions, how to get students working as soon as they walk in the door, and so forth. When did you generally notice most of the goofing around occurred? I know students at this age, in spite of it all though can be a bit goofy.

Could you maybe ask one of the veteran teachers if you could observe?

4. Maryhf

Maryhf Connoisseur

Jun 14, 2011