New Teacher Mid-School Year

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by MissCasey08, Feb 21, 2009.

1. MissCasey08

MissCasey08 Rookie

Feb 21, 2009

I'm a new teacher and I begin my new position next week. I'm nervous about jumping in with only 3 months of school left. I will be teaching 8th grade social studies. I have had the Wong's "First Days of School" for about a year now, and I had big plans for the beginning of the school year. However, now it will just be my first days of school and not the students'. Any tips or advice?

3. UVAgrl928

UVAgrl928 Habitué

Feb 21, 2009

I also started mid-year (end of October) as a first year teacher. You have to go in there and treat it like the first week of school. Tell the students that you and Ms._________ may do some things the same, but that you are different people, so you do some things differently. It made me cringe each time I heard, "But Ms. T does this." But eventually after responding a few times that I wasn't Ms. T, you stop hearing it so often.

The first few days will be the same as you would normally start the year. You practice routines, you talk about the behavior management system, you practice everything a million times! The biggest thing is that you need to be sure you know what you want from them so that you can share these expectations. Start these out right away! It is much harder to go back and change the rules and routines after things have started... it just causes a lot of confusion for the students. You will probably have material that you have to make-up, but your principal should understand this is much more important.... and you will make it up when you can.