New Teacher Looking For a Job

Discussion in 'General Education' started by EGrace, Jun 11, 2016.

1. EGrace

EGrace Rookie

Jun 11, 2016

I am a new teacher, who completed student teaching this past spring and then received my licensure in TN. I am now on the hunt for an elementary teaching job for this coming school year and am having an extremely difficult time. While I have had 8 interviews so far, I've only had one offer which was at a school that was 42 miles away and in an extremely difficult school to teach in, so I decided to turn it down.

When interviewing, I make sure to bring my portfolio that displays sample unit plans, observation scores, student work and my classroom management. I also come prepared knowing the schools test scores and demographics. I make sure to mention in the interview my passion for technology integration, building classroom community and relationships, my ability to effectively collaborate, my creativity in the classroom, my enthusiasm and resilience, how I communicate with parents, differentiation, my classroom management stye, how I set high expectations for my students and promote excellence and my continuing commitment to professional development.

After interviews, I am vigilant about emailing principals thank you emails and reiterating my interest in the position and what I have to offer.

While all of this seems great, I am yet to receive a call back for a second interview or an offer from a school that I am interested in or that is even remotely close to where I live. Lately, as we move deep into the summer, it seems that interviews are also becoming shorter and shorter. Additionally, it seems that jobs postings are drying up.

Many of the positions I apply for and then send principals cover letter emails and my resume, I never even hear back from.