New Teacher - How the Heck do I Create Lessons?!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by I<3Literature, Aug 8, 2017.

1. I<3Literature

I<3Literature Rookie

Aug 8, 2017

Good morning all, so happy I joined!

Well, to start off, I just got hired about a week ago. In July of last year I graduated with an English degree, and took three education courses during that time (which I unfortunately feel taught me NOTHING). Later that year, in August through December, I interim subbed for a teacher on maternity leave. I panicked the entire time, but the kids loved me and I loved the job (and them) by the end...it was hard to leave! The teacher who I subbed for left me all of her plans and activities from day one to the last day - I was thrilled!

And now here I am, after that long spiel, with a job beginning soon, and I have no idea how to lesson plan. Someone please give me advice and help! How do you decide what to teach your students?! I can't believe my teaching courses never sat down with us and said "this is how you actually plan lessons for the year".

I can't stand feeling like I have no clue what I'm doing, and want to cry daily (I'm dramatic sometimes, I know). I also know it's time to just throw myself into my own class, because that's what we do for real experience.

Thank you for reading, and I appreciate you all!

3. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Aug 8, 2017

Give us a little more information, and we'll be able to point you to some resources. What grade levels are you teaching? Do you have a textbook? What's the core lit in your district? Does your state have a beginning teacher support program, or will your school assign you a mentor?

In the meantime, here's a link to the ELA section of the Teaching Channel: https://www.teachingchannel.org/videos?categories=subjects_english-language-arts

4. I<3Literature

I<3Literature Rookie

Aug 8, 2017

Thank you for the quick response!