New Teacher - First Math Test Given - Not So Great Results

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by investorperson, Sep 28, 2007.

1. investorperson

investorperson Rookie

Sep 28, 2007

Hello All,

Need some advice -

Students took the first high school math Geometry exam, and the results weren't as great as I had hoped. However, since I'm a first year teacher, I'm not sure if these results were typical. I teach in a low-income, but pretty high achieving school that has an API in the 780 range.

Out of my three classes totalling 92 students, their grades were:

A's - 12
    B's - 27
    C's - 18
    D's - 12
    F's - 25

I'm trying to gauge whether these results are typical, or if they seem on the way low side. This seems like too many Fs.
    The test was straight from the McDougal Littel Geometry textbook, CA edition. Test B, Chapter 1.

Any thoughts?

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Sep 29, 2007

That's got to be hard to take, investor. Though it's not uncommon for a first test to be a little problematic, especially if there's any room for judgment in the grading: it can take a little while for everyone (including you, truth be told) to understand just what your expectations are. If any of the questions are free response, you might consider making up a rubric - not only will it make expectations clearer for your students, it'll make them clearer (because more explicit) to you.

Aside from the matter of first test as shakedown cruise, I'd look at several things:

- Is there a problem with the test? - badly phrased questions, maybe?
    - Is there a problem with the fit between the test and the text?
    - Is there a problem with the fit between the test and what you taught?
    - Do the F's belong to people who showed evidence in class of not grasping the material?