New teacher: adding structure in SECOND week of school.

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Painter, Sep 1, 2014.

1. Painter

Painter New Member

Sep 1, 2014

Hello,

I am a first year teacher. I am afraid I may have been a little too loose the first week. My head was spinning, and I didn't lay the groundwork I had intended to. The week went by in a blur!

Any veteran teachers out there have suggestions for adding structure and higher expectations in the second week of school and counter-acting having not done so well in week one?

I teach high school. I have laid groundwork plans for entering and exiting the room.

I didn't jump on students blurting out as much as I think I should have. I only responded to those who raised their hand and tried not to give the blurters the attention. I didn't jump on side chatter as much as I wished. I did not set up a clear expectation for getting their attention. I want to do all these things this week.

I plan on instituting a warning system for minor issues (like talking and blurting). Progression being warning>student conference with me>call home> detention or referral.

I also am going to try implementing an attention getter of "ladies and gentleman, I need you attention" with a raised hand signal given from the same spot in the room.

Other suggestions or how to implement these things after a week would be appreciated.

3. mollydoll

mollydoll Connoisseur

Sep 1, 2014

I would skip the warning and go straight to student conference. They already know that behavior is not acceptable, they are just testing to see what they can get away with.

Or move their seat as their warning. I do that a lot. Usually I have them move to an undesirable Siberia seat with the option of returning after X amount of time, or the next class, if they behave. Sometime students recognize they get more work done and elect to remain.