new teacher (5th grade)

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by kidsIam, Jul 9, 2005.

1. kidsIam

kidsIam Rookie

Jul 9, 2005

Hi, I am a new teacher and in September, I will be starting in a 5th grade class. Are there any other 5th grade teachers or previous 5th grade teachers who can give me some advice or pointers?

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jul 9, 2005

Sure, I would love to chat about 5th grade. Welcome!

4. Iheartteaching

Iheartteaching Rookie

Jul 18, 2005

I am a new 5th grade teacher too. I would love some help! Anything!

5. Dee452

Dee452 Comrade

Jul 18, 2005

I am new to teaching 4th, 5th, and 6th Resource. I taught at 5th grade level for a semester two years ago and would love to read any advice that you have. So much has changed.

6. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jul 18, 2005

How great to have lots of new 5th grade teachers. I have been teaching 5th for 4 years, this will be my fifth year. I love the grade. They are still young children, not preteens yet. I read aloud daily and have hooked in some reticent readers that way. They need plenty of support in anticipation of entering middle school, but they need to be encouraged to be independent, too.

Please post any particular questions you might have.

7. LionPride

LionPride Companion

Jul 18, 2005

I agree with Upsadaisy that students at this age still need to be read to on a daily basis. This way I was able to get more reluctant readers to read more. I also model how to read when it was time to read independently. I read a book and share with them what I read about.
    I just finished my third year in fifth grade an absolutely love it. I am able to do so much with them and let them be independent at the same time. I do a lot of small groups in my classroom so that I am able to help those that need it more.