New Teach Eval. Progam

Discussion in 'New Teachers Archives' started by LATechTeacher, Sep 2, 2006.

1. LATechTeacher

LATechTeacher Companion

Sep 2, 2006

I am a new teacher in Louisiana teaching 2nd grade, and we have to go through a 2 year evaluation program to make sure we are "able" to teach. It includes several observations, lots of paper work, and lots of stress! If we don't pass this program at the end of our two years we cannot teach in Louisiana for 1yr and then you have to enter it again. If you can't pass it that time you can't teach in Louisiana ever again. Personally, I think it's crap! We already have enough stuff to do, why add more to it. Plus, we just graduated and we should know by now that we can't just sit at our desk and hand out worksheets all day! Does anyone else have to do this program, or a program similar to this? Or is it just the great state of LA that decided to do this ridicules program? :rolleyes:

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 3, 2006

I'm not sure about NY; I received Permanent Certification in 1984 and I"m sure the rules have changed since then.

But I can see the point.

I've observed lots of first and second year teachers during my years as math chairman, and worked with others before that time. Some were brimming with confidence, others not so much. But not all were willing to put in the effort you seem prepared to do. I remember one in particular-- he was incredibly impressed with his own credentials, but awful in the classroom. We all give the same trimester exam, and not ONE Of his kids passed (out of 5 classes, roughly 35 kids each.) Fortunately, that was before I was chairman!