New Substitute Teacher - Needing Help!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by TNSub, Apr 13, 2014.

1. TNSub

TNSub Rookie

Apr 13, 2014

Hello everyone, I am a new substitute teacher in Tennessee!

However, immediately, I have seemed to realize that the modern classroom works a bit differently than it did even less than a decade ago. I am under 30 years old and the entire school policy and teaching method of the 2000's is still fresh on my mind.

Back just a number of years ago, teachers had strict policies in the classrooms. These were not designed to "be mean" to students, or cause stress - they were simply rules that allowed the teacher to have silence during roll call, ensure that no unsafe school guests were able to open the class door (teacher opened it only), and that the class had an overall volume level where announcements, phone calls, fire drills, teacher speeches, lesson plans, and rule announcements could always be heard the first time - this also worked to help the teacher always hear students if they had questions.

Attention and respect in the classroom was achieved by rules such as "if you aren't in the seat when the bell rings, you're tardy", or "you have to use the restroom before the bell rings", or "you must raise your hand before getting out of your seat for any reason." (this also applied to talking during times that the teacher announced "silent class" if the class became too rowdy.) This applied to grades K-12, and I believe I grew up in an excellent structure because of these simple rules.