New sub teacher needs advice.

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by bbrandy2002, Sep 3, 2009.

1. bbrandy2002

bbrandy2002 Rookie

Sep 3, 2009

This is my first year sub teaching, today made the 3rd time I've done it. The first 2 times was an elem.school, today was for middle school. Today, was by far the worst day yet, as I was working with 7th graders who came in to each class deciding they were going to do whatever they wanted to. I followed the lesson plans, but I could not get thier attention, nor would they just talk at an acceptable level. I dealt with the "I need to go to the office, the bathroom, the locker, the nurse, the library" every 2 or 3 minutes. All 6 classes were out of control, and it got around to other students that I let them text in class, which I did not, so now I'm afraid that rumor is going to get back to the teacher or principal. I'm just a nervous wreck, even after being out for 2 1/2 hrs. What is your advice for dealing with kids this age? I tried to remain calm, but by the end of the day, they physically and emotionally got to me. I just feel alone without any guidance.:( Any tips. Thanks

3. suniloneal34

suniloneal34 Rookie

Sep 3, 2009

I am in the same situation..I have subbed three times now. First two days were easy (high school, no big surprises) and the third day was a 4th grade class. The first class I had was not bad..only 2 students that really ran around/acted up. Then I switched classes and it seemed I could not get control AT ALL of the classroom. It was an odd feeling to look around and see students just running around, writing on the board, chasing each other, not doing what you tell them to do.

I took a few deep breaths and decided that it is only intimidating because I let it be. I walked up the front of the room...flicked the lights a few times and even that didn't do as much as I hoped.