New Student

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by JaimeMarie, Feb 20, 2008.

1. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Feb 20, 2008

I know this sounds silly. but I am a relatively new teacher. That is my excuse (errr story, I always get these sayings mixed up) and I'm sticking to it. hahahahahaha

Anyway, I am getting a new student on Monday (right after we all return from break). I have her name on her chair, cubby, coat hook, name on the wall with everyone elses. But the problem is I do not believe she has been in school at all. I think they home schooled her. But these aren't the type of parents that really did it. So how do I make it an easier transition on all of us. I already spoke with my class last Friday and explained that we would have a new friend and how they needed to teach her how to do things in our school. So what else can I do? And how do I fit one more kid in that classroom. We already are tripping over each other.

3. kburen

kburen Cohort

Feb 20, 2008

I think you've pretty much done all that you can do before you meet the child. Preparing your students for a new friend is about all that you can do until you get to know that child. I've been through MANY new kids this year (it seems like everytime I get one I loose one, then I get one all over again!) and each time it's the same. The kids welcome them to the room and make friends. The new one eventually gets used to our routine and fits right in. Once you see how they react to being in your room you can figure out what needs to be done to make it an easier transition. The only thing that I can think of to recommend, would be to make sure you're putting their desk/seat by someone who will be a help to them, (not a child that talks and doesn't do their work, or a child that calls names).

4. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Feb 20, 2008