New Student Teacher

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by Harmony2, Aug 27, 2012.

1. Harmony2

Harmony2 Companion

Aug 27, 2012

Hey everyone!

Just wondering who else will be sharing the next few months with me??

I will be in a 3rd grade placement. I am meeting my CT tomorrow to get the room ready. I am very excited, but also very nervous; because life always has a way of making the road more adventurous, I have not been in the classroom in two years. :eek:

Previously, I worked as a One on One Exceptional Assistant with Students having Behavioral Issues, and also in a 3-4-5th grade LD classroom. This, in addition to my Field Placements and BA/Masters coursework. I know I have the training, but I am afraid of being "rusty". I am also praying for a "good fit" with my CT; I do want a CT that challenges me and is not afraid to push me to my limits...but I am not sure where they are right now,lol.

Looking forward to sharing, venting, and learning throughout the next 75 days!!

3. Mathemagician

Mathemagician Groupie

Aug 27, 2012

NJ I see! Enjoy it!

4. Harmony2

Harmony2 Companion

Aug 27, 2012

:)

5. Harmony2

Harmony2 Companion

Aug 27, 2012

Mathemagician..if you are indeed what your name implies, I may be consulting you. :). My Masters Thesis was on Math Anxiety, and while I can say I am much more comfortable with Math, I much prefer teaching Language Arts, :)

6. Mathemagician

Mathemagician Groupie

Aug 27, 2012

Sure thing! Good luck!

7. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 28, 2012

Best of luck to both of you!

Harmony, don't sweat being rusty. After a while, being in a classroom becomes a part of who you are. I left teaching for 5 years to be home with my kids, then returned...it felt like I had never left.

Hang in there, and have fun!

8. Harmony2

Harmony2 Companion

Aug 29, 2012

Well so far so good!!! My CT is very very nice, and has already given me a ton of stuff. :)