New Special Ed Preschool Teacher Advice?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by MissB123, Aug 18, 2017.

1. MissB123

MissB123 Rookie

Aug 18, 2017

So I am a 2nd year teacher this year. I'll give you a little background about me and then my question!

I graduated in December 2015, and had my first position in an Autism Classroom teaching 5th grade in January of 2016. I came in the middle of the year because the teacher was leaving to go elsewhere. I did not really get a good sense of the first day of school and what kind of prep goes on beforehand.

August 2016 I switch to a public school. 4th Grade In Class Resource is what I was doing. I worked together with 3 different teachers since they switched classes. It was a big difference than my first position but I don't think I enjoyed it as much. My district had budget cuts so I had to search for a new position elsewhere.

August 2017 Just got offered a position in a PreK Disabled/Autism class in a public school.

Heres my questions:
    • Tips for the first day/week of school, what to do with students that are already scared to be there?
    • When I was in the 5th grade Autism class, they had Aides with substitute licenses so the teacher was able to legally leave the classroom with just the aides and students in the rom. In a public school the teacher does not leave the classroom right? what if the aide has a teacher cert?
    • Typical Schedule for this age group and learning abilities
    • How to handle behaviors? In my other school we were allowed to restrain students on the spectrum
    • Also, How much do you spend on classroom decorations etc do you have any tips on that? This is my first time decorating a room because the first one was already done, and the second was shared with my colleagues
    • Anything else you can help me with would be beneficial and I thank you all in advance!

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Aug 18, 2017