New Spec Ed Teacher

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by bnickie, Nov 2, 2006.

1. bnickie

bnickie New Member

Nov 2, 2006

I am teaching a MOCI class (this is my very first year teaching), and I feel like I am drowning...... I have 7-9th graders and their academic ability ranges from lower then a pre-school (this would be my guy that is labeled SXI) to my highest student who is at a 2nd grade level. I have 7 hours in the day and I feel like things are falling apart. I basically have my first hour as doing small jobs, second hour is calendar which we do as a job and I am also going to start brain gym this hour, then 3rd hour I have pretty much down as reading/writing (it is hard becuase everyone is at a different level so I can not just teach as a large group) 4th hour is math although math is falling apart because I don't know much to do with them (my highest guy struggles with money) I have to think of some different social skills to work on. Some people have told me to go with a theme and that will make it better.
    I AM SO LOST!!!! I went to school for 6 years for something I love and now I feel like I am so lost I hate it.
    Any suggestions

3. teacherbeader

teacherbeader New Member

Nov 2, 2006

Hi Bnicki,