New Resource Room Teacher

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by kidatheart, Mar 15, 2009.

1. kidatheart

kidatheart Habitué

Mar 15, 2009

I was just informed that I am going to be moved into a resource room (math, lang arts) next year. I am currently an inclusion teacher. I am a little nervous. Can anyone tell me what to expect?

:confused:

How do you start the year? Do you assess to see what they know? What type of base line assessments do you do? :help:

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Mar 15, 2009

When I taught in a Resource Room a couple of years ago, I didn't start my program the first week of school (with my principal's approval). I felt that the students needed that time to be in their homeroom classrooms, to get to know teachers, classmates and routines. I spent some time in the classrooms, getting to know the students (all of them, not just mine), observing them, assessing and prioritizing needs and helping the classroom teachers do some diagnostic testing with all of their students. I also read the student files of all of my students and created a timetable for the resource room that would work with the schedules of all of the teachers. At my school, within the first month of school all students do a diagnostic writing sample, math screening, spelling assessment and reading assessment (PM Benchmark or DRA). I use this data as a starting point with my students.

Good luck with your new venture!

4. Leatherette

Leatherette Comrade

Mar 15, 2009

I do exactly what Mrs. C. said! I am a K-5 elementary resource teacher.

5. resourcestress

resourcestress Rookie

Mar 16, 2009

I'm a resource teacher in high school, my problem was getting a hand on classroom management. I now use a reward system and I have assigned seating.

6. kidatheart

kidatheart Habitué

Mar 17, 2009