New Research Says Older Kids Do Better... Like FOREVER!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by AlwaysAttend, Aug 22, 2017.

1. AlwaysAttend

AlwaysAttend Fanatic

3. otterpop

otterpop Phenom

Aug 22, 2017

100% believe it. I've noticed it in my own classrooms. The youngest children seem to be most likely to struggle with academics or to be labeled "behind" when compared to their peers.

4. AlwaysAttend

AlwaysAttend Fanatic

Aug 22, 2017

I would have expected the gap to close as part of the normal development process. I also found it valuable that it was consistent in different socioeconomic groups.

5. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Aug 22, 2017

Well, it hasn't been true for me.

I skipped kindergarten and went to first grade at five. I was always at the top of my elementary class. I was the only one in my grade (at my school) who scored into the gifted program on overall general intelligence. I had no issues as at college at 17.

As a teacher, I've seen some kids who could have benefitted from a later start of school, but not always.

6. otterpop

otterpop Phenom

Aug 22, 2017

I'm not sure, but I think it's also likely that starting K early means that students had one less year of preschool. A few families I know of that have a child right on the border (born in August or September) choose to have their students go in earlier rather than later because kindergarten is free while they have to pay a lot of money for preschool or daycare. So it's possible that these students are also less likely to have attended prechool or PreK.

7. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Aug 22, 2017

I saw this big-time with third graders, largely in regards to overall maturity. I haven't noticed it at all with fifth graders, but that's obviously just anecdotal.

AlwaysAttend likes this.
  8. AlwaysAttend

AlwaysAttend Fanatic

Aug 22, 2017