New Program - New Teacher - Help

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by gotclass, Feb 14, 2014.

1. gotclass

gotclass New Member

Feb 14, 2014

I am a second year teacher (although this is my first year with my own class) in a brand new program specifically for k-1 kids with autism.

I have all of the things that I need to be successful (and count my blessings) but I just can't seem to get it to come together.

Because it is a new program to the district, I don't have anything to work with in terms of "thats how we have always done it". I also don't have anybody to really talk to that I can bounce ideas off from except my ed techs and my bcba, who are wonderful but all have different perspectives and priorities, where I have to look at the WHOLE picture.

Anyway, I currently have 2 1st graders, 3 kinders and am getting another 1st grader after Feb. break. Unfortunately they are all at such different levels, it is hard to group them. The best I can do at this point is 3 groups (high, middle and low) but on the whole they can't do things independently (attention issues then turn into behavior issues). So academically, I have high, middle and low and functionally I have high, middle and low, and the kids aren't necessarily in the same level for both.

I have been doing centers, but I have a couple kids that really need discrete trial teaching. I just don't know how to make it all make sense in a way that the kids are learning and the room isn't complete chaos.

My classroom is designed to be self contained, but of course we are trying to get them into the mainstream when possible.

Because they are K-1 kids, they really aren't at a point that they can be independent, although we have made progress in that arena.

Any thoughts or ideas would be helpful. I have a bunch of staff that is more than willing to do whatever I ask them to do but I am so frustrated because we can't seem to get a routine/system in place.