New Preschool Teacher- Goddard Help!!!

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by isabunny, Jan 9, 2011.

1. isabunny

isabunny Comrade

Jan 9, 2011

:help::)I am so excited. After looking for a job for the last year, I finally landed a job at a Preschool as lead preschool teacher. However I am pretty overwhelmed. I was hired at the last minute and did not have any prep time to get my classroom ready ahead of time. I have no clue what the prior teacher had been doing as daily rules and schedules are concerned. I am used to teaching older kids. This is my first time in a Pre-K class. I love the kids and finally working as a teacher. But boy, I am only paid for 8 hours a day (no breaks) and working 12 hours getting stuff ready. The daily activity reports and lesson plans are crazy. I figured for each month you have to come up with 240 different activities ahead of time (filling out 120 pages of papers monthly). Plans for the month are due by the middle of the prior month. Not sure how I am going to do all that work and come up with activities to met the themes. I am already behind, because I was just hired. :help:Seems really crazy. Does anyone have any advice to help with the work load. Do you just get used to the system and doing it quickly. I took me 5 hours yesterday (Saturday) to come up with 5 days of lesson plans (on my own time of course). Please help! Any advice would be appreciated greatly!:help:

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jan 9, 2011

Do they still nap and/or have a quiet time? We used to get most of our planning done during that time!

Another thing, you don't need to plan 240 activities for a month. Often times, you can offer free play or dramatic play more than once as well as different activities that they do often.

4. bdsweetie

bdsweetie Rookie

Jan 9, 2011

5. Blue

Blue Aficionado

Jan 9, 2011

bunny, I want to help you. First, let's discuss this no break thing. Is there a bathroom in your classroom?