New Pre-K teacher, first week of school?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by MissT2017, Jun 27, 2017.

1. MissT2017

MissT2017 Guest

Jun 27, 2017

Hi everyone,
    I will be teaching Pre-K this fall, this is my first year having my own classroom. (I subbed while I was going through my alternative certification program). I am very overwhelmed! I keep hearing that in the first week or two I should only focus on routine and getting the children use to the classroom. Does anyone have any ideas or advice on some things I could do and go over in the first week or two of school?

3. Preschool0929

Preschool0929 Cohort

Jun 27, 2017

I really just focus on routines, procedures, and social skills for the first month (longer if needed). For the first 2 weeks, I only open a few centers (usually blocks, dramatic play, library, and art). Each centers has a small selection of toys. I introduce a center each day at large group. We talk about rules for that center and demonstrate how to play with and clean up the materials.

Once they can play with those centers well, I open a new one up each day, again introducing it during large group. Usually by the end of the first 2 weeks, most centers are open.

Some of the routine procedures we practice daily are:
    -rules for large group (how to sit, what good listening looks like, how to raise hands, etc.)
    -classrooom rules
    -how to wash hands
    -how to stand in line
    -bathroom rules
    -social skills (we do a social skill lesson each Monday and then practice that skill all week)
    -playground rules
    -how to clean up
    -how to transition between activities
    -quiet signal (we practice "freezing" when I ring a bell for times that I need everyone's attention)
    -how to use scissors, glue, paint, and play dough (I introduce all of these during small group and every student has to tell me the scissor rules and demonstrate safety before I put them permanently on the art shelf)