new pay scale?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by msj, Jan 9, 2008.

1. msj

msj Companion

Jan 9, 2008

Hi, I have a bit of a problem. I teach a short (2.5 hr) preschool class. The place where I work also has an all day day care/ preschool class for children of the same age and has before and after school care for older children. They have two basic positions, lead teachers and assistants. They have fairly high standards for their lead teachers and have had a VERY hard time finding people to work that qualify for what they pay. I am a lead teacher with all the qualifications. I just saw an ad in the paper two days ago for lead teachers at my center (which is getting to be the norm), but the starting rate of pay was stated as $3-$5 an hour more than I make doing the same job. When I started about a year ago, the rate of pay was one set amount for the lead teaching position which is what I'm paid (plus a raise I received on 1/1/08, still $3-$5 less than the ad). I don't know if I should go to my director and ask to be paid according to the new scale or not? What's the norm for this?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 9, 2008

I don't know about standard practices at preschools, but I would talk with the director about a pay increase. You have all the qualifications and are experienced in that particular center. There's no reason why you shouldn't be making at least as much as a new hire.

4. Joyride

Joyride Comrade

Jan 9, 2008

It sounds like you are due for a yearly raise anyway.

5. MsWK

MsWK Habitué

Jan 9, 2008

You should be on the same pay scale, definitely. Ask for the raise. Calmly.

Good luck!

6. Pre-K Teacher 1

Pre-K Teacher 1 Comrade

Jan 9, 2008

Take the ad to your director and ask her when you will be paid the new rate. That is why you shouldn't post payscale in the paper!

7. MimiBee

MimiBee Companion

Jan 10, 2008

I agree, take the ad in to your director. IMO, you should be making MORE than new hires.

8. msj

msj Companion