New Movie: Ramona & Beezus

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Ms. I, Jul 6, 2010.

1. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Jul 6, 2010

I read quite a few of this series of Beverly Cleary books when I was younger, which I loved. They're finally making a movie out of it. It starts July 23rd. Do kids still read these like they used to? I never hear anyone talking about them.

Speaking of this, I'm surprised they haven't made a movie out of those Sweet Valley High books. I know they made a TV show from it because I was an extra in their pilot episode! :D

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jul 6, 2010

I always really liked those books.

I have a few of them in my classroom collection, and some of my kids read them. They're a little young for most of my kids, but they're a fun read. I read some of them again a few years ago. (I always read when my kids read.)

4. Love to Teach

Love to Teach Cohort

Jul 7, 2010

They are great books, and our 2nd-5th graders are still reading them. :) I am hoping that the movie will be good, but my favorite will always be the series that ran on PBS. The girl who played Ramona was outstanding...wish they would run those again for a new generation. :)

Ms.I, you were an extra for the Sweet Valley High series! Wow! I remember watching those with my kids, also. How did you get chosen for that...how exciting!! :)

5. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jul 7, 2010

I usually like the book better than the movie. I know it is easier to be lazy and just watch the story, but the movie usually doesn't compare.

6. buck8teacher

buck8teacher Devotee

Jul 7, 2010

This was the first year my third graders got into Ramona. I begged and begged my first two years. This year, a few of my girls read Ramona Quimby Age 8 for a reading partnership and then my girls couldn't get enough Ramona!

7. sue35

sue35 Habitué

Jul 7, 2010