New Kindergarten Teacher!

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by popcorn1889, Jun 14, 2011.

1. popcorn1889

popcorn1889 New Member

Jun 14, 2011

So, I just graduated college in May and will be starting as a Kindergarten teacher in August. I did my student teaching in a Kindergarten class, so I have some experience teaching this grade, but I am completely in over my head when it comes to what materials, books, centers, etc. that I need to get as well as how to handle the first day, parents, planning and preparation, etc. I am excited and ready to do this, but any advice from all of you experienced teachers would be great!!! I am literally open to hearing anything that you have to say... thanks so much!!:)

3. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Jun 15, 2011

ok 2 things come to mind when communicating with parents. NEVER tell them this is your first year. Tell them it's your first year at this school. Otherwise many parents will eat you alive if they know you are new because they will think you could never be good enough to teach their child. Just be confident and if they ask something your not sure of or haven't thought of say, "I am thinking about doing that in a different way this year". blah blah blah

Also never give parents you home phone. Always respond back quickly to parent email and phone calls though.

I know this isn't exactly what you were asking, but good advice anyhow.

I will suggest you read anything by Debbie Diller. It gives a very clear picture about centers (literacy and math).

Books I read for the beginning of the year: Kissing Hand, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, No David series, etc.