New K teacher here...help!

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by sofiluv, Jul 6, 2006.

1. sofiluv

sofiluv Rookie

Jul 6, 2006

Hello everyone, I was just offered a job to teache Kindergarten at a charter school and was wondering about a few things, maybe someone could help:

I will be sharing a classroom with a teacher that has been at the school for some tine now, as a new teacher, I am a little scared and would like your opinions, do you think I should contact the teacher and ask about the classroom/routines/planning? WHen should I do this, this is afterall, her vacation time...

Is it customary for kinder teachers that share a room to teach pretty much the same thing to both classes, plan together and such, or have any of you heard or done otherwise?

Thanks in advance for your responses...:thanks:

3. KimberlyBest

KimberlyBest Comrade

Jul 8, 2006

Hi there! I'm a Kindergarten teacher at a Charter school too - this will be my second year. Are you sharing the actual space in the classroom? Is it a full or 1/2 day program?

I would definitely contact the other teacher. This will help you get a feel for what type of person she/he may be. Last year I worked next to a Kinder teacher who was in her 60's, National Board Certified, had been teaching longer than I've been alive pretty much, and was VERY set in her ways. We are very different people and have very different teaching styles. I learned a tremendous amount from her (she was also my son's teacher) but I still kept to my teaching style because it's what made me comfortable. For example, she doesn't believe in curriculums because she says that they are only for making publishing companies rich and that they are all poop anyway. Well, as a first year teacher last year I needed that poop :D, with her extensive background she was able to pull from her experience and teach off the top of her head. I, however, needed a bit more assistance.