New k teacher afford all the stuff?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by PenCelia, Aug 24, 2005.

1. PenCelia

PenCelia Rookie

Aug 24, 2005

I decided to go back for one more yr in va but not sign contract next yr. Hopefully I will be able to get teaching job in nh next yr. This is my first year having my own k classroom. I'm excited but nervous. My biggest concern is the money I spent every week for my classroom. Last yr there was always something I was running out to get. Special snacks, supplies, stickers, charts etc. Here is my question I don't tend to have many of the supplies I need because I'm new. I would love to get copies of Dr.Jean's stuff but can't afford to buy it. Our school district did give us 100 dollars for supplies but we have to order our own paper, crayons, bulletion board stuff etc. I would like to run centers but I don't have all the stuff to set them up with. Plus I wanted to get something for the childrens birthdays and such. Any ideas on how and where I can get this stuff cheap? Especially the music?

3. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Aug 24, 2005

Have a donation list that you send to parents. Things you would like for the classroom but they can decide if they want to buy or not buy.
    A lot of places will donate paper, pencils, crayons. You just have to find the right place. Don't be afriad to ask. As for Dr. Jeans. Maybe on ebay?

4. ABall

ABall Fanatic

Aug 24, 2005