New Job Woes

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Evabop, Oct 30, 2019.

1. Evabop

Evabop Rookie

Oct 30, 2019

I have recently taken a job as an after school assistant teacher. I have been teaching preschool for over a decade, Pre-K for five years, and coordinated my preschools' after school program and summer camps. I chose a part time job close to home in order to work on some other projects. However, I am having much difficulty. This school is in my neighborhood, and these after school kids need adults like me who will spend time with them, play with them, and converse with them. I've only been here three weeks and these are my horrors:
    #1 I'm not allowed to have a set routine or schedule.
    #2 I'm encouraged to yell at the children and use fear tactics.
    #3 Children spend 30-45 minutes walking through the hallways (within a one hour period).
    #4 My group of Kindergartners changes every day (we have 50+ in the program).
    #5 There are no planned activities. "We just do whatever we feel like with the kids."
    SO, I need some advice. What should I do? I don't want to quit, but it is very difficult for me. Using positive discipline with children who have been conditioned with negative discipline and empty threats is TOUGH! I've already had to use my monster voice twice (when I raise my voice to get their attention), and my bosses feel like I am incompetent. I've been documenting everything I have witnessed and experienced, but I have no solutions. Any advice would be a huge help. I'm used to having my own classroom with set rules/routines/procedures/schedule, and a positive atmosphere built on mutual respect instead of fear. This is way out of my comfort zone, and I'm I feel as though I am fighting an uphill battle.

3. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Oct 30, 2019

If you're allowed to "do whatever you feel like with the kids", what power do you have in planning stuff?

What is the school's philosophy?

4. Evabop

Evabop Rookie

Oct 30, 2019