New Jersey Teachers: My Last Question Before I Part with Thee?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by pinkcupcake90, Feb 3, 2016.

1. pinkcupcake90

pinkcupcake90 Companion

Feb 3, 2016

Hi, everybody.

This will be my last question, I promise! I'm closing my account shortly. I just wanted some feedback from fellow New Jersey teachers.

I was a substitute teacher for this company called Source4Teachers. They had a listing for a long-term sub assignment at this high school. One of the English teachers was arrested and suspended from the job due to an incident with a student.

I've been filling in for him since September, and I've been hearing rumors that he is not coming back based on his actions. The principal who hired me is trying to get me a contract, and I am currently finishing up my standard teaching license via NJ Alternate Route.

I plan to leave this school come June. I will not return because I cannot take it anymore. I am in a very tough area, and one of my students caused a circus this morning because I gave her detention for being tardy for the THIRD TIME. The entire school came running to my classroom thinking someone got shot. That's how loud she was.

I am meeting with the disciplinary office later, and I know I'm going to be reprimanded for upsetting this precious child (she's the principal's favorite). I did yell at her and ask her to sit down before I called administration and made her sit down. But I know this doesn't look good, and I had an epiphany today: I don't belong here. I love teaching as a job, but I can't take this school anymore.

I used to want to stay here more than anything. Now, I really don't think I will be offered a contract (in case the teacher does come back), nor do I want it. I immensely despise this district.

When I finish this assignment come June, what are the next steps towards getting a contracted job?