New Here - Seeking Guidance

Discussion in 'General Education' started by PrayerWithStrength, Oct 26, 2020.

1. PrayerWithStrength

PrayerWithStrength New Member

Oct 26, 2020

Hello teachers and forum users! :D

I hope all of you are staying safe and healthy during the pandemic. Moments ago I made my account and figured to introduce myself to everyone and also ask a few questions while seeking guidance. If this is not the correct place to post on the forums then please let me know and I will delete this thread or move it to the correct location. Thank you all in advance! :)

I recently moved to New York from out of state; currently not a New York state resident but I am sure that will change in the next few months. I want to become a teacher in New York (or possibly New Jersey) but I feel a bit overwhelmed with how to go about the process.

I have a bachelor's in psychology and criminal justice. I have several years of subbing and tutoring experience for kids ages five to fourteen in addition to some experience in adult education via martial arts. I also have a lot of work experience in retail, computers, and sales but I am not sure that is very relevant to becoming a teacher.

I am not a certified or licensed educator; but I emphasize that I have many years of different levels of teaching experience... although I can't compare tutoring or subbing to running a full classroom for an entire year and meeting with parents and conferences. o_O

My interest is in teaching either special education, impaired education (blind, deaf, etc), disabled education, or possibly higher level math (early middle school to early high school). I prefer students that are fourteen or younger; although my best experience has been with kids ages six/seven to ten/eleven but I am flexible. For special education I prefer younger than ten or eleven if possible.