New here, Interview and going NUTS!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by kpteacher, Aug 1, 2009.

1. kpteacher

kpteacher Rookie

Aug 1, 2009

Hello Everyone,
    I am a newbie! I have been reading the boards for a while and couldn't think of a better place to post my thoughts right now as I can see how supportive everyone is.
    Quick history: Taught 1st grade 2.5 years, left to be SAHM. ALso taught 4th grade ESL 3 years for summer school. Have been out of the classroom for 7 years but was teaching adults during that time.

Have gotten my license back to an active status and got my first call for an interview, which I had yesterday.

So here's my BIGGEST dilema.....

I went to the interview, panel of 2 principals and 1 ,HR, I think. Had my portfolio and a picture portfolio, tri-fold brochure and copies of everything for everyone. It was like talking to trees. One of the principals got two phone calls and took them, with another it was all he could to do stay awake! There was no reaction in anything I said, no smiles, no frowns, nothing! One would ask a question, then the next, then the next...kept going for 40 minutes. Also, the questions that were asked were district related, I had no clue, but tried to key in on words that I could make into something. The only question, out of the 100+ that I had reviewed was "there is a stack of applicants 3 feet tall why should we hire you"? In the end I left feeling like it was a complete BOMB! :dizzy:

Are interviewers always this poker faced?

If I get a call back it is to go to the Superintendent...

Thanks to anyone that posts...

3. lilmisses1014

lilmisses1014 Comrade

Aug 1, 2009

Wow--- I'm so sorry! :hugs: Hopefully that's the last time you have an interview experience like that.

I've been on a few interviews and have always talked to Ps and APs who were involved and interested in what I had to say.

4. mom2alex

mom2alex Companion

Aug 1, 2009