New First Grade Teacher

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by kgardner, Jul 11, 2007.

1. kgardner

kgardner Rookie

Jul 11, 2007

Hello! I have searched through the forums and found piles of advice, but I am hoping I can get something a little more specific for myself. This is my first year teaching, and I have first grade. I know what to do (and I am good at it!) once the routines are established, but I've never had experience or witnessed this. So, I have tons of questions, and don't know where to start...BUT mainly, HOW do I successfully establish these routines? What do I do with these children on the first day of school when I suddenly have their beautiful faces looking at me? How do I build a relationship where they understand I am "in charge" but not to be afraid of me? Thank you!!

3. cb4pebbles

cb4pebbles Companion

Jul 11, 2007

This past year was my 1st year teaching 1st grade (taught 3rd for 3 years). The one thing I realized was that the children would need to be reminded of morning routines and such day after day for the first few weeks. I walked and talked them through our daily routines and had a schedule posted and morning routines posted. We looked at these a few times every day. We played a lot of getting to know you games so that I could learn about them and they could learn about me. I made sure that they knew I meant business. I followed through on everything that I said and spoke sternly when needed. The kids knew that I was approachable though because I could joke around with them too. I made sure to stand at the door and tell them all goodbye and that I couldn't wait to see them tomorrow. I hope this helps a little.

4. wdwteach

wdwteach Cohort

Jul 11, 2007