New Class...SUGGESTIONS PLEASE!!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by lullabelle72, Oct 19, 2011.

1. lullabelle72

lullabelle72 Rookie

Oct 19, 2011

Hello!

As some of you know, I am a brand-new 5th grade teacher. I am an add on, so I got kids from 4 different classrooms.
    It's been a bit challenging... I have a very diverse class-- one girl with a lot of attitude, telling me she doesn't need to listen to me- calling me racist...etc. Tried to ignore comments, because I know she is very upset about moving classes. I tried to talk with her a little one-on-one, seemed to work a bit... but, I'm not sure. Any suggestions?

I also have a boy-- a very, very, busy boy. He is bright, extremely talented in math, a leader (all the kids follow his lead), and BUSY. He is constantly out of his seat & over chatting with someone. Or turned, to chat with someone.

I asked his previous teacher what she did, she said she hadn't found anything that worked yet.

:-/ Any thoughts?? Please and thank you!

3. EdEd

EdEd Aficionado

Oct 19, 2011

Fun stuff! Overall, I think it would definitely be helpful to focus on building community and relationships - through teambuilding, discussion, etc. So, in addition to a normal game plan of being firm up front and setting high expectations, acknowledge that this is a bit different of a situation, and that the kids do have a right to be frustrated. I'd help them focus on expressing that frustration in a more healthy way than overt noncompliance, though.

I also think you should keep separate your general class strategy and your individual strategies. So, you may have a really successful overall plan, but have some kids that don't respond to it, such as the 2 kids you mentioned. For those kids, I'd problem-solve a bit separately from what's happening on a class level - and possibly create a separate thread here if you notice a specific child isn't responding to your general classroom plan.