New 3rd Grade Teacher HELP!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by LVTEACH, Oct 8, 2005.

1. LVTEACH

LVTEACH Rookie

Oct 8, 2005

I am a substitute teacher and was just given a long term vacancy (from 10/10 to 12/16) in a third grade class. The teacher that just resigned did not start anything concerning reading at home or in class, other than the standards. I would just like to know if anyone has some ideas of how I can implement this into the class. Such as, how many books to have them read in a week/month? Any reward systems that you use? I am so new at this that Im sure I have the wording wrong but I would really love it if you could let me know what some of you use in your classroom. Thanks!!!!!

3. Cateacher2b

Cateacher2b Companion

Oct 8, 2005

Here's what 5th grade does

I'm not a teacher....yet! My son's 5th grade class is required to read 20 minutes at home every day (including weekends). They have a sheet of paper, the daily reading log, that is to be signed by the parents and returned every day. When the child has completed both the front and the back of the paper they get a gift certificate to Pizza Hut. I know there's a name for this reading program but I can't recall it. Hope this gives some ideas.
    Teri

4. LVTEACH

LVTEACH Rookie

Oct 8, 2005

Thank you for your input!! Believe me anything is helpful. They just threw me into this. With the teacher leaving, it seems like he didn't care much about things, which is sad but not very helpful being this is my first time. Thanks again!!!

5. kinderkids

kinderkids Virtuoso

Oct 8, 2005

I believe the reading program you are referring to is Book IT.