New 2 year old teacher needs help getting class to listen

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by BeckyDwyer2, Oct 2, 2004.

1. BeckyDwyer2

BeckyDwyer2 Guest

Oct 2, 2004

I am a new teacher to a class of 9 two year olds. They DO NOT LISTEN!!! I need some advice on how to get these kids to listen before I go crazy!!!!!!!! I know you guys have great ideas, so please share!!!!!!!

Becky :eek:

3. Amanda

Amanda Administrator Staff Member

Oct 3, 2004

4. Grammy Teacher

Grammy Teacher Virtuoso

Oct 3, 2004

Two year olds are so active, they need lots of large motor activities. I would suggest rocking horses, tumble mats, soft balls, and last but not least, get a refrigerator box and make a little house out of it. Put some soft pillows and baby dolls in it, etc.

5. Jeri Dawn M

Jeri Dawn M Rookie

Oct 4, 2004

Quick Fix

Two-year olds love to have fun. When you need to regain their attention try playing a quick mimic game. For example, if you are in the middle of a lesson and can see that you are losing one or two children, stop and say, "Everyone touch your nose. Everyone touch your ears. Put both hands on your knees." When you can see that everyone is paying attention again, proceed with your lesson. You may also want to end your mimic with "Put your hands in your lap."

6. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Oct 4, 2004

One little rule of thumb to remember... a 2 year old's attention span will be about 2 minutes long. (A minute per year of their age... that may explain why I could only pay attention 20 minutes in college... lol. now I'm expected to pay attention 31 minutes... lol... well actually longer, but that rule of thumb applies to adults as well! :) )

Lori

7. mccwen

mccwen Comrade

Oct 4, 2004