Nervous about 1st grade

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by shandannon1, May 4, 2006.

1. shandannon1

shandannon1 Rookie

May 4, 2006

Hi!!! Well, I am currently a first year teacher teaching 6th grade. I found out that next year I will be teaching 1st grade. At first I was very very excited,,,but now I am getting a little nervous because I have no experience with 1st. Everything will be new to me. Can anyone tell me of any good books or websites or magazines that deal with 1st grade? I was also told that we would be teaching saxon phonics to them,,,I have never taught saxon anything before but was told that it is just a script that you follow word for word.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!:) :)

3. Starista

Starista Cohort

May 5, 2006

Hello there! I am finishing up my first year in the first grade (taught K previously for 5) and I love the grade! You will love the first grade. They love any books by Eric Carle, Jan Brett, and even Dr. Seuss. They also adore the Junie B. Jones books, the Magic Tree House books (toward the end of the year) and truly any book read aloud to them. Check out the Caldecott books at your local Library.

As for magazines... we read Scholastic News weekly in our class which I am sure your school would order for you at www.scholastic.com. It's great nonfiction reading and ties in beautifully with our social studies series. :)

I have never taught Saxon phonics/reading, but we're starting a new series (Harcourt) and I am very excited for that! :)

Feel free to IM/email me if you want more info/to chat about 1st grade!

4. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

May 5, 2006

As Starista stated scholastic is an informative website. First grade is such an exciting age group. I think the biggest problem after making the switch will be to ensure that everything is clear, etc. The older grades obviously can hadle more independent work. Why not try centers? I would love first grade... congrats and good luck