Negotiating grades

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Apaasn, Dec 5, 2013.

1. Apaasn

Apaasn Rookie

Dec 5, 2013

I am a prospective teacher and currently in my teacher prep program this topic came up and our professor said many educators in k12 teach students strategies to help them in college.
    I just couldn't find much info regarding this online.
    Just wanted to get some insight on this from teachers,what do you feel about changing a grade? Do you do it? Under what circumstances?

3. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Dec 5, 2013

Do you mean final grades? Or individual grades?

I'll change individual grades if I am convinced that either I made a mistake grading (or making the assignment) or that they truly knew the content but presented it in an odd way. I have NO problem being told that I made a mistake.

For instance, I gave a quiz where students had to answer a question by identifying labeled parts. The parts were labeled A, B, C or D. It was multiple choice and when the program scrambled the answers it turned out that you should bubble in A if you felt that the structure C was the answer. *I should have locked the options so it couldn't have been scrambled, and therefore confusing. The student should have read the question and answers thoroughly. But since she had circled the structure on the quiz properly and got the answer wrong just for jumping the gun a little, I had no problem changing that grade. Following directions is super important in my class, but that just wasn't big enough of a deal to worry about.

I do not negotiate final grades at all. I make that decision completely alone and tell students that grade-grubbing is likely to get them the exact opposite outcome than what they want.

4. GTB4GT

GTB4GT Cohort

Dec 5, 2013