Needed supplies and materials for first year teacher?

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by ms.pekkle, Jul 4, 2013.

1. ms.pekkle

ms.pekkle Rookie

Jul 4, 2013

Hi all,

I will soon be starting my first teaching. Yikes! I mean, yay yay!:woot:
    I've accepted a bilingual 2nd grade position. I have Harry Wong's book to help prepare me for the first day of school. However, I have not bought ANY supplies while I was an undergrad. The only thing I have gotten (because of projects and such) are one pack of bulletin board trimmers, sentence strips, flash cards, and an erasable classroom schedule. Oh, and some scented Mr. Sketch markers :p

As a first year teacher, what do you all recommend is a must to get before the first day? And what are some things that can wait a few weeks after the first day? I would love to hear from all teachers! Especially any bilingual teachers! :) Thank you all in advance!

3. queenie

queenie Groupie

Jul 5, 2013

Make sure your classroom has a good pencil sharpener and stapler! I use a ton of paper clips :) After teaching 2nd grade for 6 years, here's what I will be sure and have before school starts this year:
    A way to show AR and Math facts levels; a display of some sort outside my door to welcome students; desk tags that have a number line and hundreds chart- incidentally, I have tried everything for securing these to desks and have decided to just lay them on desks without securing them; two sets of numbers- one for lunch count and one for jobs; a birthday chart and birthday bags; a calendar; pencils, glue, scissors, crayons, paper, tape, and hot glue gun; broom and dustpan (obviously not necessary, but oh so handy!); my own trash can; tissues; dry erase markers; This year I'm getting lots of highlighters! Also, I use stickers a lot :)

4. chrissy1214phx

chrissy1214phx Rookie

Jul 5, 2013