Need URGENT cover letter help!!!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Exclaimation Po, Jun 25, 2008.

1. Exclaimation Po

Exclaimation Po Habitué

Jun 25, 2008

Ok, there's this district near me that I would loooove to work for. I've applied to every single social studies position there in the past 3 years, but no luck. I applied to a high school position on monday and a middle school position was just listed. I really, really, really, really want to get this job.

Please review my cover letter:

I am writing to express interest in the Middle School Social Studies position listed at EdJoin.org. This school year I have been a teacher Too Far Away Middle School in Tiny Little School District. I had a rewarding year teaching 8th Grade Language Arts. This year allowed me to better myself as a teacher and I am thankful for all the opportunities that have been given me.

I am very passionate about teaching history/social studies. I have encountered some students who don’t like history or who think social studies is boring. I want to change their minds. In my classroom I work really hard to make social studies personal to students. If they can't understand the perspective of people from whatever time period we're studying, they'll never understand the relevance.

This year I had the opportunity to speak with a 7th grader who was failing his social studies class because he just didn’t understand why it was important. I asked him if he knew the names of his grandparents, where they were from, and his ethnicity. He said he did. When I told him that this was social studies, knowing who we are and where we are from, I could see the understanding dawn on his face. I changed his feeling about social studies in less than five minutes. This is why I teach social studies.